The Next Step

We have been home from NJH for almost two months now. Although improved in general, Ava is still suffering with eczema, intense itching and sub par sleep. We have continued with daily baths, wet wrapping when necessary, creams several times per day and have avoid all the foods she showed sensitivity to: eggs, dairy, gluten, nuts, garlic and sesame. There are still flare-ups for no apparent reason. Something is still causing havoc within in our sweet little girl.

So, after a break, I am going to start blogging again about our next step: The GAPS Diet. For those unfamiliar, that is Gut and Psychology Syndrome. Very basically, Dr. McBride, the author, after treating many patients with the intention of healing their gut, has cured them of many different ailments and disorders. This includes eczema. The idea is that the state of our digestive system plays a huge role in our overall health. Her book is very interesting, but there are too many details to go into here. Please visit her web-site if you would like more information: http://www.gapsdiet.com/

I have read many success stories from people that have embarked on this intense diet. I have known about it for a long time, even before Ava’s issues. I have intended to start the diet for at least a month now, but for one reason or another, we were delayed. Tomorrow is the day, though.

I have prepared quarts upon quarts of broth from pastured chickens and beef. This broth will be the staple of our diet for a while. It is healing and easily digestible. We will also be eating well cooked vegetables, such as broccoli, butternut squash, zucchini…and also lots of fat. Animal fats and ghee (which is the first food introduced after Stage 1). If you are interested, I will update on our progress and what we have eaten for the day.

I am excited to get started, but I nervous at the same time. I will be disappointed if this does not help Ava, but I have to try. Either way, I think it will be good for all of us. Yes, all 6 of us will be doing the diet together!

Here are some pictures of the food I have been preparing:

Image

A very large beef heart.

Image

I did the chicken stock in the Crock Pot

Image

Ghee

Image

Beef stock

Thank you again for reading and if you continue to follow, I hope our experience is helpful!

3 thoughts on “The Next Step

  1. Oh, I have been thinking of you and was hoping that things had cleared up for little Ava. I am so glad you are going to post your diet experiment.
    We are still in the same boat with our Marit. Now 2! No great improvements with her skin either. We are using a homeopath who is certain that we are on the right path…but the results have not been there…yet…
    I wish you all the best in your emblazoned quest to improve Ava’s skin with food and thanks again for posting. If you have good luck, I am willing to try it too…it gets to that…you want to try anything! Love and peace to you.

  2. Meghan, that is so wonderful you will all be doing the GAPS diet together! Please keep updating, I hope so much that this will be the answer for Ava! God bless you all!

  3. Thank you for sharing! Our story is similar, but Titus is sleeping through the night and hardly has any itching after NJH. However, we are still doing a steriod cream every few days and 2 baths/day. Wet wraps on arms and legs. He does still have red spots though, so we are trying gaps as well!! I am a teacher and this is our spring break, so we just started. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

